Donald J Trump, Confirmed the Next US President by Electoral College

Donald Trump and Omarosa

White House
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Donald J Trump will be the next President of the United States of America.  At the last count, with several states still voting, Donald J Trump had secured 304 votes, against 169 for Hillary Clinton. He only needed 270 Electoral College  votes to win  the presidency. 

 An effort by the "Anti-Trump" movement had been pushing some Republican electors to abandon President-Elect Donald Trump.  In some states, some Republican Electoral College voters casted protest votes but did not impact the outcome.  In Texas, two Republican casted protest votes. In several states, including Pennsylvania, Maine, Wisconsin, Tennessee, and others several protesters against electing Donald Trump showed up. These "anti-Trump" efforts have failed.

Hillary Clinton, on the other side, has so far lost four votes in Washington state:  Electoral College voters voted for former Secretary of State General Colin Powell and one voted for Native American tribal leader Faith Spotted Eagle.

With the win of  the Electoral College votes, Donald Trump will become America's 45th president. A joint session of the US Congress is scheduled for January 6, 2017 to certify the results of the Electoral College vote, with Vice President Joe Biden presiding as president of the Senate. Once the result is certified, Donald J Trump is expected to be sworn in on January 20, 2017, taking over  through democratic transition from actual 44th Presindet Barack Obama.